Tags

, , , , , , , , ,


The other day I left work a few hours early because I was sick with a lousy cold.  You know the feeling of a cold, you feel crappy but you still have energy to do stuff.  Well that is how I felt that afternoon.

It was a warm, sunny afternoon in January and the pull to be outdoors was hard to resist.  On the drive home I had a strong desire to be with the trees.  As soon as I drove into my complex I could hear the river behind my home calling me to come out and play.   Nature was calling me!  I felt like a child and wanted to go outside and play with my friends in the trees and along the river.

River behind home at sunset

River behind my home at sunset

The sun would be setting soon and I had a feeling that I would get some nice pictures.  This time I listened to my feelings and grabbed my camera.  In all my excitement, I forget that I had a cold.

 

The sun dancing between the trees

The sun dancing between the trees

It was a quiet late afternoon, no people or animals except for a few birds.  As I stood close to the river I could feel the Goddess and all things Divine.  This is a space that I will come back to day after day to connect with the Goddess.  It is amazing to think that I live in an urban environment and this space is literally 100 yards from my front door.

A Sacred Space to connect with the Goddess

A Sacred Space to connect with the Goddess

Every time I stand by the river I think of all the things that surrounds it.  There is a highway that runs along side it and another highway that run over it.  There is a car dealership behind the trees that can’t be seen in these pictures, but trust me, it is close.   There are homes everywhere you look.  Even with all the human activity surrounding this patch of land and water, the space is quiet.  It is a sanctuary in the mist of human activity.

A view of the river

A view of the river

There is a conversation in the world that human activity is destroying the planet, which I believe is true.  This space gives me hope for humanity.  We need to stop rushing and take a few moments a day and be in nature.  Nature is truly magically and it is working really hard to get our attention.  The question is, will we listen before it is too late.  Nature isn’t going to stand for our selfish activities very long.  She will leash out and hurt our species deeply.  The Goddess is very kind, but if one of Her children is bullying Her other children, She is going to slap the child who is doing the bullying.

Water colliding with the rocks

Water colliding with the rocks

As the sun was setting along the river in my backyard, I took these pictures.

The sun playing peek-a-boo

The sun playing peek-a-boo

Beathtaking

The sun dancing with the trees

The sun peeking thru the trees

The sun setting in between the trees

The sun in between the trees at sunset

Tree and the sun playing at sunset.

Sunsetting above the trees

Sun setting above the trees

Peace with yourself

Peace with the natural world

Peace with the Goddess and all things Divine.

 

 

