Tags

, , , , , ,


It is a cool, crisp, sunny Saturday Morning in January.   Looking out my window, I decided to take a walk out in the January air.  I dressed in layers to ensure that I would be warm during my walk of 3 or 4 miles.  As I was dressing I thought to myself, “I should bring my camera.”  Of course I didn’t listen to myself and walked out the door without it.

I really enjoy my walk especially on cold winter mornings.  It is very quiet.  The insects are gone and there are very few birds around.  It is so quiet that you can almost hear the trees talking to each other.   I love listening to the trees conversing with one another.  To bad I don’t understand tree language.  Maybe some day a tree will teach me 😉

The river behind my complex.

The river behind my complex.

Part of my walk is a path along a river behind my complex.  As I started to walk up the path, I saw a big crane and ducks in the water.  I startled them, because the moment I saw them they took flight.  Then I said “Sh*t, I should have brought my camera!”  I was so angry with myself.  So I walked home cursing for not bringing my camera.  All day I wondered if I would see that crane again.  Then I said to myself, “Probably not.”

The next morning, Sunday, I decide to go for a walk and this time I took my camera.  I did argue with myself about taking it.  As I walked around my neighborhood, I thought, “I don’t know why I brought my camera, there really isn’t anything exciting to take a picture of.”

When I came upon the place along the river where I saw the crane, it was empty of birds.  Then all of a sudden, from behind me, I heard a bird scream and I turned around and what did I see… the Crane!  The Crane scared me this time!  It came up from behind me and landed in the tree.  I took this picture and then cursed because I didn’t have a bigger zoom lens.  You can see a big bird in the tree.

Crane in the tree posing for a picture

Crane in the tree posing for a picture

After a few minutes of posing and letting me take pictures of it, a group of people and their dogs walked up the path and the crane few off.   I was very annoyed with those people.  They had interrupted my conversation with this crane.

Now I’m wondering what the crane was trying to tell me.  Will I see this crane again?  I don’t think it is a coincidence that I saw this bird two days in a row at the same time and place.   It seem like the crane knew I wanted to see him/her again and that I would have my camera to take a picture of it.  Well the moral to my story is to always listen to yourself.   Do what your inner self asks of you because she/he knows.  I am going to work hard on not questioning or doubting my inner self.  She has a lot to teach me.

The river behind my home is a beautiful space.  It is a scared space where I can connect with nature and the Goddess.   Here are some more pictures of the natural world in my backyard.

Water crashing against the rocks in my backyard

Water crashing against the rocks in my backyard

Looking out through the trees along the river

Looking out through the trees along the river

Different view of the trees along the river in my backyard

Different view of the trees along the river in my backyard

Peace within yourself

Peace with the natural world

Peace with the Goddess and all thing divine

